ID-I-OTE!

“What is wrong with you?”  My mother had said these words so many times to me that my sisters had adopted them.  I had a habit of grabbing some scissors and pulling up a chair while my mother cooked dinner.  I cut up whatever was in sight–letters, bills, report cards–it was relaxing after a long day at school to just cut things up, cut, cut, cut.  The way some people needlepoint.  My father saw me doing this once and said, “Don’t be an idiot.”  I didn’t speak to him all night, and then I wrote a retaliatory note to him, in pencil so dark it ripped the paper.   I pressed down on it like a dying man, writing, “I am not an idiote.  Do not call me one!”  I put it on his pillow.  My dad apologized right away but from that day on whenever I did something stupid, my sisters would say, “I am not an ID-I-OTE!  Do not call me one!” in the voice of John Merrick, the Elephant man.

unlimited power

Do not put such unlimited power into the hands of husbands. Remember all men would be tyrants if they could.
Abigail Adams, 1744 – 1818