beautiful and heartwarming and heartbreaking and astonishing

Megan Mayhew Bergman’s Birds of a Lesser Paradise is beautiful and heartwarming and heartbreaking and full of grace.

Brad Watson writes that “Bergman’s excellent stories are hard-earned and well-honed.  Her characters speak as if their very lives depend upon getting it right, getting it down, facing the toughest stuff that tumbles down with equal toughness and enduring resilience.  A very fine and impressive debut.”

From the book – “Housewifely Arts” story:

I am my own housewife, my own breadwinner.  I make lunches and change lightbulbs. I kiss bruises and kill copperheads from the backyard creek with a steel hoe.  I change sheets and the oil in my car. I can make a piecrust and exterminate humpback crickets in the crawl space with a homemade glue board, though not at the same time. I like to compliment myself on these things, because there’s no one else around to do it.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

