visual aids

Certain things will bring up memories: sounds, fragrances, items . . . .

My grandmother gave me a cookie jar, which now sits on my kitchen counter and holds wooden spoons.  The jar reminds me of my grandmother; I can see her – wearing a full apron, sharpening a knife, all the while singing (loudly) “I Walk in the Garden Alone” as she prepares a family meal.

The only item my husband has of his father’s is a walking cane which he purchased for his dad when he visited us in Denver. After my father-in-law’s death, my husband asked if he could have the cane.  It had obviously been used and my husband lovingly restored it to its original finish – remembering his dad.  That cane hangs on the side of a bookcase in the library – and reminds us of a father-son connection.

Memories.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

