I love a good Read

The Family on Beartown Road by Elizabeth Cohen is one of those books that resonates and Cohen not only knows how to tell a story, she tells it eloquently.

Julia and Sanford Cohen.  Their love was a busy thing.  It was public, and it had plans.  They would frequently talk all night long, in excited voices, about politics, education, economics.  But mostly they talked about each other.  The second marriage for my father and the third for my mother, they could not get over their enormous luck in finding each other.  When we went to restaurants, they picked tables where they could sit side by side and hold hands.  Sometimes they embarrassed us.  They’d peck or hug at parent-teacher meetings at our school, in open view of our friends.  They looked lovingly at each other in airports, as though they had just met after long separations.  My sister and I lived on the periphery of their great, lucky love.  It was not that they didn’t love us, too–they did–but we fit in around the edges and corners of their feelings for each other.

 

from Barnes and Noble interview with Elizabeth Cohen:

Elizabeth Cohen: When my father moved in with me I joined the growing ranks of the “sandwich generation.” Daily, we tend to the needs of people at the opposite ends of life, needs which sometimes mimic each other but also can clash. I have my own name for it, I call it “extreme parenting.” In most cases the people in the middle of the sandwich generation have children that are school age or even about to go to college. Rarer are those who, like myself, find themselves in the position of caring for an elderly, infirm parent or one with Alzheimer’s disease at the same time they have an infant. That can mean feeding and diapering two very different sorts of people.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

